Contributing to a Shared Project

Once you obtain a shared project through Git or share a project yourself, you can continue working on the project. For example, you can modify a block, create a new block, or delete an existing one.

From time to time, you might want to store your modifications to the local repository, or do a commit in Git term. This action is typically done quite often. With Git, you can later go back to a certain commit when, e.g., you find that your modifications do not work.

Modifications to a shared project need to be pushed to the corresponding remote repository so that other people with whom the project is shared can get them. This is done in two steps explained below.

Step 1. Commit

Commit means creating a version of your project in the local repository. This corresponds to the green arrow commit in the EGit illustrating figure.

To do a commit, follow these steps:

  • In the Project Explorer View, right click the shared project. Usually, the project has a > mark in front of the name. This indicates that there are modifications which have not been committed.
  • Select Team → Commit…
  • You will get a window like the following figure.
    1. Fill in a commit message (mandatory)
    2. Remember to start tracking newly created files
    3. Click button Commit

Step 2. Push to Upstream

Push means storing commit(s) to an upstream repository. This corresponds to the golden arrow push in the figure illustrating EGit.

Note that you may push several commits at once.

To push commit(s) to an upstream repository, follow these steps:

  • In the Project Explorer View, right click the shared project.
  • Select Team → Push to Upstream.
  • You will get a window that confirms the push.
  • Go to the Bitbucket website that contains the repository.
  • You should see your commit(s) have been saved. Refresh if necessary.

Note

Depending on the version of EGit plugin you installed, the second step above may be done automatically by selecting to commit (executing step one).